Briefly defined, a chakra is a center of energy and comes from the Sanskrit word meaning “wheel”. Throughout our body we have main energy centers which are connected to major organs or glands that govern other body parts. A chakra is a spinning wheel-like vortex that swirls in a circular motion forming a vacuum in the center that draws in anything it encounters on its own vibratory level.

We have 7 main Chakras positioned throughout our body, from the base of our spine to the crown of your head. Each chakra has its own vibrational frequency, governs specific functions, major organs, as well as our psychological, emotional, and spiritual states of being, and each has a specific chakra color.  These colors reflect the different frequencies of light and energy associated with each energy center.

Let’s give an example; the heart chakra governs the thymus gland, the functioning of the heart organ, lungs, bronchia system, lymph glands, secondary circulatory system, immune system, as well as the arm and hands. And it resonates to the color green – green is connected with love, relating, integration and compassion.

Since everything is constantly moving, it is vital that our chakras stay open, aligned, and fluid. If there is any blockage, energy cannot flow, and can cause disruption in the body. Compare it to the pipes in your home. If too much gunk gets in there, it will clog and back up with water, stagnate and eventually cause bacteria and mold to grow. This is what can happen to our bodies if the chakras get clogged. Though the pipes can easily be fixed, reopening the chakras requires more internal work, it involves self-awareness. Since mind, body, soul, and spirit are connected, awareness of an imbalance in one area will help bring the others back into balance. For example, a recurring sore throat may mean your fifth chakra is blocked, or frequent headaches around the area of the forehead might signal that your sixth chakra needs clearing.

Contrary to popular belief, the Chakra system is an ancient philosophy and not a hot, new trend. It originated in India between 500 and 1500 BC in the oldest text called the Vedas (Sanskrit texts). It was passed down through an oral tradition by the Indo-European people, and became more accessible to the public in the 1980’s.

A summary of the 7 main Chakras:

  1. 1.     Root Chakra:

-Represents our foundation and feeling of being grounded.

-Location: Base of spine in tailbone area.

-Emotional issues: Survival issues such as financial independence, money and food.

-Red: Symbolizes safety, survival, grounding, nourishment from the Earth energy.


  1. 2.     Sacral Chakra:

-Our connection and ability to accept others and new experiences.

-Location: Lower abdomen, about two inches below the navel and two inches in.

-Emotional issues: Sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure and sexuality.

-Orange: Associated with emotions, creativity, sexuality


  1. 3.     Solar Plexus Chakra:

-Our ability to be confident and in control of our lives.

-Location: Upper abdomen in the stomach area.

-Emotional issues: Self-worth, self-confidence and self-esteem.

-Yellow: symbolizes mental activities, intellect, personal power, will.


  1. 4.     Heart Chakra:

-Our ability to love.

-Location: Center of chest just above the heart.

-Emotional issues: Love, joy and inner peace.

-Green: connected with love, relating, integration, compassion.


  1. 5.     Throat Chakra:

-Our ability to communicate.

-Location: Throat.

-Emotional issues: Communication, self-expression of feelings and the truth.

-Blue: symbolizes self-expression, expression of truth, creative expression, communication, perfect form and patterns.


  1. 6.     Third Eye Chakra (also called the Brow Chakra):

-Our ability to focus on and see the big picture

-Location: Forehead between the eyes.

-Emotional issues: Intuition, imagination, wisdom and the ability to think and make decisions.

-Purple: Evokes intuition, extra-sensory perception, inner wisdom.


  1. 7.     Crown Chakra:

-The highest chakra represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually.

-Location: The very top of the head.

-Emotional issues: Inner and outer beauty, our connection to spirituality and pure bliss.

-White: Associated with the universal, connection with spirituality, consciousness.


 1. What is the definition of a Chakra?

A. A crystal ball giving us the predictions

B. A burst of light

C. A center of energy that comes from the Sanskrit word meaning “wheel”

D.  A vortex that carries sound

E.  None of the above

2. How many major Chakras are there in the body?

A. 7

B. 13

C. 107

D. 19

E. 4

3. The origin of Chakras can be traced back historically to when?

A.  During the time of Jesus Christ

B. 1682

C. Ancient Rome

D. The Philistine Empire

E.  In India between 500 and 1500 BC in the oldest text called the Vedas

4. What are the names of the 7 Chakras?

A.  Earth, Sacral, Stomach, Heart, Throat, Third Eye, and Crown

B. Root, Sacral, Naval, Heart, Mouth, Third Eye, and Head

C. Root, Stomach, Naval, Heart, Throat, Eye Brow, and Crown

D. Root, Sacral, Naval, Heart, Throat, Third Eye, and Crown

E.  Root, Sacral, Belly, Heart, Intuition, Third Eye, and Crown

5. The Solar Plexus Chakra represents:

A. Self-worth

B. Our ability to be in control of our lives

C. Personal power

D. Self confidence

E. All the above